Things NASA Might Tweet

One year ago today, the US federal government shut down due to a budget impasse, leaving NASA’s outreach teams unable to work. So I tweeted:

In solidarity, today I’m tweeting some #ThingsNASAMightTweet if they could.

I didn’t think much about it. But what happened next was astounding. People from all over the world joined in, and by the end of the day there were dozens of posts about NASA, space exploration, and science in general bearing the #ThingsNASAMightTweet tag.

It just grew from there. Sixteen days later, my last #ThingNASAMightTweet read:

Thank you to everyone who supported #ThingsNASAMightTweet. 13,219 posts. 27 million impressions https://sildentadal.com/. Unquantifiable love.

If you want to see how important NASA and its work are to people on this planet, @KristenFitzpat1 @BluhmDesign @budiprasetya @AgilistaAG and others captured the story in a few slides.

Meanwhile, many of the tweets are still on Rebel Mouse, and you can still see several articles that appeared in the press.

Space is intriguing, but the best part of writing about it are the people who love to explore it.

Big Week for Space News: Your Guide to the AGU Meeting

saturnnorthvortex
The monstrous vortex at the north pole of Saturn, as seen last week by the robotic spacecraft Cassini. Rumors in the news about discoveries in space are swirling almost as fast. Image: NASA/JPL/SSI

Something unusual happened last week: space was in the news. The Cassini spacecraft captured head-turning shots of the vortex at the north pole of Saturn (see above). There was the announcement that —very cold water ice has been found on very hot Mercury. And, of course, there were headlines related to rumors of a major discovery on Mars.

This week has the potential to generate even more buzz. The American Geophysical Union, the world’s largest organization of Earth and space scientists, is holding its 45th annual Fall Meeting December 3–7 in San Francisco. More than 20,000 scientists, educators, and students are gathering to present the results of their research and connect with colleagues.

Among the many announcements expected to take place this week is an update on the Mars Curiosity rover’s latest findings (rumor: hints or evidence of carbon compounds in the soil) and news from the decades-long Voyager mission to the outer solar system (rumor: Voyager 1 has crossed the last boundary of our Solar System, and has ventured out into interstellar space).

Here are some of the best and easiest ways to keep up with all the news (all links open in a new window):

News Coverage

Twitter

Live Webcasts

– All week: The AGU will generously be providing free information and live webcasts of several key sessions on its Virtual Meeting page throughout the conference. You can also see a complete list of scheduled press conferences.

– Monday, Dec. 3 at 9 a.m. PST (12 p.m. EST): News conference about the latest findings from the Mars rover Curiosity. Recorded replay. Press release with images: Mars Rover Fully Analyzes First Martian Soil Samples.

– Monday, Dec. 3 at 11 a.m. PST (2 p.m. EST): News conference to discuss the latest discoveries and travels of the Voyager 1 spacecraft. Recorded replay. Press release with images: Voyager 1 Encounters New Region in Deep Space.

– Tuesday, Dec. 4 at 10:30 a.m. PST (1:30 p.m. EST): Press briefing about Mars Rover Opportunity’s Investigations at Endeavor Crater. Recorded replay. Press release: NASA Opportunity Rover Finishes Walkabout on Mars Crater Rim.

New Addition: Tuesday, Dec. 4 at 4:00 p.m. PST (7:00 p.m. EST): News conference about newly-announced 2020 rover mission to Mars. Recorded replay. Press release: NASA Announces Robust Multi-Year Mars Program; New Rover to Close Out Decade of New Missions

– Wednesday, Dec. 5 at 9 a.m. PST (12 p.m. EST): Press briefing covering NASA’s Lunar Twins: GRAIL First Science Results. Recorded replay. Press release: NASA’s GRAIL Creates Most Accurate Moon Gravity Map